gatorpolar.blogg.se

My passport for mac disconnecting
My passport for mac disconnecting








my passport for mac disconnecting
  1. My passport for mac disconnecting software#
  2. My passport for mac disconnecting Pc#

To my surprise my files are still there and the folder structure is in place too. I then scanned the drive using Easeus data recovery. (Btw, it's a 5 years old mechanical drive, not sure if age affects performance)

my passport for mac disconnecting

And it appears that i have about 3008 pending sectors and a bunch of bad ones which I assume are causing the issue.

My passport for mac disconnecting software#

I used a software called Victoria to assess the S.M.A.R.T. I tried to take advantage of the drive being recognised and listed. Also I got a message saying I need to format the drive befire I can use it.

My passport for mac disconnecting Pc#

And I woke up to it recognised by the PC although still inaccessible, and chkdsk got stuck at stage 2. I left the drive plugged in overnight with chkdsk running.

my passport for mac disconnecting

I can't say that I found a solution but I think i'm getting somewhere. I come from another thread where I am having the same issue. Seems 2-3 more users had the same problem lately (within the last 2 days?) here on Tom's. Glad to know I'm not the only one, at least. I'm going to keep tab on this post, because I'm desperate for a solution, so if anyone finds anything - please inform us! So yeah, any solutions will be deeply appreciated, I really need to get this drive running again! Wasted so many hours and nerves on this with zero progress. Especially one that was hardly in use and well kept. I refuse to believe a simple failed write process will clean-wipe and ruin the entire drive. I'm also going crazy at this drive issue "at my wits end" is a perfect way to describe it. What was really weird is that WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostic -detected it once for like 2 minutes, and then gone, it was random, and never happened since. Drive is basically unreachable by anything, and also freezes or slows anything that can potentially see or access it. I really need to recover the data and get the drive up and running again! Please help.ĮDIT: I did manage to detect it for 5 minutes using WD software - I ran a Quick Test and it passed without issues- then it disappeared.Ĭlick to expand.Glad to know I'm not the only one, at least. This external HD was used maybe 5 times and was sitting in storage for years. Tried chkdsk /f /r and SFC - but both fail to even start - again STUCK.Nothing happens. Tried Western Digital Data Lifeguard and it doesn't show up the HD up in the list, only on the lower one. Tried 2 different cables, and 2 computers. If I click on it it will freeze up, not respond (load forever) and might say "drive is inaccessible" after a long time. If I open file explorer (this computer) - I see the drive as "local drive e:" - not as "my Passport" (which was its original name). If I open Disk Management it will open a frozen white window and will be stuck forever, not responding and slowing the PC. The white light on the drive is blinking- but nothing happens.Įven ejecting the drive via the taskbar gets forzen. It is stuck, slowing down the PC and file explorer - and undetectable. Now I can't access my external HD at all. The the desktop went black, was frozen for a while, and finally the whole process crashes back to desktop. I was going to use to to transfer around 100 GB of video data (gameplay capture 4K 60fps 55mbps) - after around 30% it said "can't open file - can't read" or something like that. It had some important videos, images and content.










My passport for mac disconnecting